Partner of the Year 2022: the Government of Benin

This year, the e-Governance Academy’s award “Partner of the Year 2022” was forwarded to the the Government of Benin for the high-level political will and contribution to digital transformation and public e-service provision in the country.

Mr Hannes Astok, Executive Director of e-Governance Academy, handed the prize over to Mr. Afiss Bileoma, the Director of Dematerialization at the Information Services and Systems Agency of Benin at the e-Governance Conference network event at the Tallinn Creative Hub.

According to Hannes Astok, the Government of Benin has achieved a lot in close collaboration between the government and its implementation agency, the e-Governance Academy, Estonian company Cybernetica and the local IT company Open SI.

“After three years of fruitful collaboration with this government, an e-governance architecture framework, e-governance legal acts, secure data exchange between government agencies and a citizen portal are now fully up and running. Moreover, the country’s information systems and services have been mapped in a catalogue of interoperable solutions (CatIS). All this allows the public administration to serve its citizens more efficiently!” said Astok.

At the moment, 27 government agencies exchange their data digitally to provide 77 e-services. The citizen portal includes more than 100 e-services where citizens can apply online for building permits and environmental certificates, for one’s criminal record or retirement files. In addition, the citizen portal provides all information about services that can be accessed physically.

Read more about Benin’s digital transformation story in the eGA blog or listen to the podcast

Since 2015, eGA has awarded the most enthusiastic partners who develop e-governance and implement ICT solutions that help to govern in a more efficient, transparent and sustainable way. Previous annual awards went to the the Electronic Interoperability Centre of Kyrgyzstan, the State Agency for e-Governance of Ukraine (now the Ministry of Digital Transformation) , the Government Office of the Republic of Namibia, the the Government of Faroe Islands and the City Council of Ivano-Frankivsk, Moldovan e-Government Center, Effecta Solutions, State Agency for Public Service and Social Innovation under the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, City of Tartu, and EMT.